A is For Something…

Sometimes I think too much.

It’s true.  I analyze events that are even less worthy of the moniker “The Situation” than the “Jersey Shores” reality television series star.  I’ve spent far more time than I care to admit trying to determine what “A” word I would use to jump start the A to Z Blog Challenge.  The process was already beginning to drain me, and I hadn’t even left the gate.

An ounce of wisdom, possibly my last ounce (besides my reserves, of course), sent me snooping around the host’s blog site for some answers and hopefully some relief.  There, I re-visited the rules of engagement.  In doing so, I found a couple of interesting tidbits I somehow overlooked during my initial review.  For example, there will be no post on Sundays.  Whew!!  That’s about all I have to say to that.  The second interesting tidbit I uncovered was the actual parameters for the challenge.  Here’s the paragraph that REALLY got me:

“You will only be limited by your own imagination in this challenge.  There is an unlimited universe of possibilities.  You can post essays, short pieces of fiction, poetry, recipes, travel sketches, or anything else you would like to write about.  You can post photos, including samples of your own art or craftwork.”

Sure I could have come up with something super deep and thought provoking, but with 26 letters in the alphabet…well let’s just say we have ample time to wade in deep waters, wouldn’t you agree.  Besides, it’s Friday!

So while I’m stressing over what to write about for my very first post, I could have just taken a picture of an apple, written the words “A is for apple”, and called it a day.  Now how much freedom is in that?!  Let me tell you that it’s a whole heck of a lot.  Especially for a girl like me who wants to get it JUST right.  In her humble attempt yet unnecessary attempt to get it JUST right, said girl beats what’s supposed to be a fun challenge, mercilessly with her “analysis stick”.

So I decided I have the following two choices:

1.      Either I’m going to be shackled by this challenge that’s supposed to discipline me, strengthen me and just get me wielding words again.

OR

2.       I can let this challenge set me free.

What did I finally settle on?  Before I let you determine the answer to that question I have one small request:

1.  Count or write a list of the “A” words in this post.  THOSE, my sweet friends, are your “A” words for day one of the A to Z Blog Challenge.

Finally, as a bonus:

A is for APPLE! (Insert BIG smile here! 🙂 )

Ahhh, freedom cometh, albeit (see more “A” words, lol) slowly, but it COMETH!!!  See you tomorrow!

Wise, Virtuous, Valuable,

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. margarethall
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 11:00:28

    G’Mornin’, Monica~!! I “hear” you about the challenge…Last year I was off to a great start and then fizzled out~!! This year I decided to make it a GO!
    Love your thoughts this mornin’…thanks for sharin’…
    Good luck on “B”…. (big smiles)

    Reply

    • Monica P. Watkins
      Apr 01, 2011 @ 17:12:25

      Hi, Margaret! Thanks for the encouragement! I know I will probably need it to get through these 26 letters. “B” will be much easier. I’ll give you a hint. Tomorrow’s my birthday! lol… Thanks for stopping by. Hope you will visit again.

      Reply

  2. Sylvia van Bruggen
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 12:42:35

    I so giggled at the apple 🙂

    Thank you for this post, enjoyed it. Will come read here again!

    Reply

    • Monica P. Watkins
      Apr 01, 2011 @ 17:14:01

      Sylvia, I giggled at myself with that apple. And I took my own “apple” picture, which tickled me that much more. So glad you stopped by. Please come visit again, and I will be sure to stop by your place. 🙂

      Reply

  3. jabblog uk
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 12:59:31

    Simple is good:-)
    I fussed and worried about this challenge, another one trying to get it right, but then jumped in.Whether I ever surface again is anyone’s guess;-)

    Reply

    • Monica P. Watkins
      Apr 01, 2011 @ 17:16:18

      Please surface again! We’ll have to encourage each other. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, and please check back again throughout the challenge.

      Reply

  4. NiaRaie
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 15:31:13

    Ha, you ultimately went with the apple photo. Don’t worry I struggled with finding topics too. I’ve got a few Idea but not many past the letter D. Good luck with the rest of the blog challenge!

    Reply

    • Monica P. Watkins
      Apr 01, 2011 @ 17:25:52

      Yeah, my ideas are a bit sporadic. I have B, then F, maybe a D and E….who knows. We’ll see what happens. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Nia. Hope you will you visit again soon. 🙂

      Reply

  5. Wanda
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 19:32:01

    It amazes me just how much we think a like a times. I’ve stressed over what my “A” was to be. And to think I had a whole two months to come up with something but I was busy doing other things. You’re off to a great start Monica.

    Reply

    • Monica P. Watkins
      Apr 02, 2011 @ 18:02:06

      Girl, now you know great minds think alike! 🙂 Say a prayer for me as I continue following in your blog challenge footsteps!

      Reply

Leave a comment