Who Am I?

On a six hour road trip a few months ago, I had a bit of an epiphany.  It dawned on me that I have been blogging for a year, but I still haven’t shared very much about myself, have I?  I mean I have shared a bit about my struggles (and boy do I have them), and I’m sure you could guess a little about my passions.  I’ve given you a glimpse of my heart for this ministry, maybe, but I’m sure at least one of you is curious about the woman behind the Full Circle Women’s Fellowship.

And what about the basics??

Who am I….really?  The answer to that question depends a great deal on how much time you have.  LOL…  Seriously though, I know I can be wordy, but I promise to TRY to keep it simple this time.  Here goes…

Name:  Monica P. Watkins (maybe later I’ll tell you what the P. stands for, but let’s just say I love both my first and middle name.  Mom and Dad, ya did GOOD! LOL…)

Hometown:  A small city in the peach state that’s famous for a sport that involves a little white ball, a competition that involves a green jacket, and male competitors who used to occasionally wear plaid pants (thank God that fashion trend is over!).  That ought to keep you busy!

Siblings: I am 1 of 4.  You guess which one!

Age:  Let’s just say I’m clutching my thirties by the last couple of threads left on a rapidly unraveling rope.

Education:  I have a Math-related Bachelor’s degree, but I don’t like math!  I have a passion for music, writing, God’s word and women’s ministry.  So, “you do the math“, because I’ve finally decided NOT TO!  🙂

I enjoyMUSIC – all kinds, but especially soft rock music from the 1970s and 1980s (“Sailing” by Christopher Cross STILL stops time for me!), Rhythm and Blues from the 1960s, 1970s, and 1990s; reading, shopping, traveling, the ocean (hope to own a home overlooking the Pacific one day),  spending time with those I love, laughing uncontrollably, dining at restaurants I’ve never been to (I enjoy the company, the ambiance, then the food – in that order), traveling by plane to places I’ve never been to (I love the whole experience, even standing in airport security lines.  Don’t ask me why, because I have NO idea!); walks in the park; concerts; plays; musicals, buying a new CD (yes, I STILL buy CDs, and you can’t imagine how merry my heart gets when I do!), movie night on Fridays, ordering takeout, talking on the phone until the wee hours of the next morning, the moment new revelation hits and my pen works frantically to keep up with my thoughts (scribble is of the Lord, dear friends!! lol…), visiting my local Lifeway, Borders or Barnes and Noble bookstores (I’ve literally spent half a Saturday in a Lifeway before; true story!); walking through new homes under construction and imagining the life that will soon come to dwell there; I could go on, but I promised to TRY to be short! 🙂

Favorite Color: Used to be yellow, but now I believe it’s pink (I sure hope you could read both of those.).  Pink just makes you feel like a girl, don’t you agree? 🙂

Vision & Dreams: To one day be a loving and devoted wife and mom and for those two things to always be numbers 2 and 3 in my life, right behind number 1: to be a loving and devoted child of God.

To be a published author (books, bible studies, and journals – the things I love); to write at least one song; to work on a sitcom;  to host my own radio show; To teach God’s word from the overflow of my life to women all over the world.

I guess you could say that one of my missions in life is to be a vessel of freedom for women – encouraging them to embrace God’s original design and His unique assignment for their lives to achieve the ultimate goal of bringing Him glory.  This Wisdom, Virtue and Rubies blog, the bible studies I write, and Full Circle Women’s Fellowship are my humble first steps toward walking out God’s unique assignment for me.

That’s a little bit about me.  What about you?  It’s comment time and your turn to tell me who you are.  You can choose from the categories in bold that I used above or make up your own.  Make sure you include at least one or two of your dreams so that I can join in prayer with you that God would set you on the path toward them.

Until next time….

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. FotoBella
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:48:31

    Monica this is a great post! I’m sure your readers will enjoy this glimpse inside both your head and heart. As for me, growing up my favorite color was purple, then I really liked black (which ironically is not a color, but the absence or absorption of all, but I digress), but now make it RED! I always feel beautiful and able to command attention! Lol

    As for my vision and dreams: we share the same top 3 and id like to add business owner. I’m signed up so I should get the updates now!

    Reply

  2. Elisa
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 16:50:39

    MONICA!!!! I sooo enjoyed this entry. The writing was just wonderful. I especially love the description of your hometown, age (LOL @ “rapidly unraveling rope”), and educational background.

    I too grew up loving PURPLE, but contrary to my wordrobe, I have an affinity for RED, just like Laci. Marcia swears its pink though….shh, don’t tell her! But anywho…. My dream is to become a resource for women in Wealth and Investment Literacy. Not sure if God and I are eye to eye on that. I’ll just have to wait and see what thus sayeth the Lord.

    Thanks again for introducing yourself…..

    Reply

  3. Marcia
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 17:23:34

    Nice post Sis! So who am I?
    I am the youngest of your 4 which leaves you where??? LOL.

    I don’t really have a favorite color (some of my friends found that out on Sunday) but I can tell you that Lisa’s really ISN’T RED! LOL.

    I won’t bore you with my education of yesterday because it doesn’t matter for my “today” or “tomorrow”.

    I am a loving devoted and favored wife who is married to a good and good-looking God fearing man. 🙂 About to be a new mom – with no clue what to do, but confident that I will be alright and a good one.

    I love… people! Love being around them, love being mad at them, happy with them. I just love them. They fascinate me. I love spending time with those closest to me and hate to leave them. I think I could live with everyone in my house (until they start to get on my nerves then they have to go).

    My passion/dream – to be a successful entrepreneur, to make God smile, to be a Great mom, and to influence LOTS of people in this journey to follow Christ. To be used of HIM and to bring HIM glory!

    That’s me in a nutshell.

    Reply

  4. Flying Solo
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 21:03:38

    Monica I absolutely love this post! Thank you for revealing yourself to us. Let’s see my favorite color is pink as well, it makes me feel so ladylike. That is really funny to me because we I had my first daughter I was so against putting that baby in pink. Oh the changes that take place. Age- Mmmm I recently came to the end of my “rapidly unraveling rope” and it has been nothing but fabulous! My dream is to break through the barriers which have held me back for so many years and to finally become the woman God created me to be.

    Keep pressing forward!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Celebrating You! « Wisdom, Virtue & Rubies
  6. Wanda
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 17:17:18

    I’m a little late to the revealing but I must say I enjoyed reading this post. A bit about me: I was the middle child for many years until my little brother came along and made us four. I’m still on the upside of 30 but soon to be on the downward hill. I love bubble baths, books, the Bible, and my sweet girl-Bella. My favorite colored houses are yellow. My dreams/vision including having a family of my own, finding my sweet spot, becoming debt-free, and being an entrepreneur.

    Reply

Leave a comment